Scientific Advisory Board

Alex G. Waterson, Ph.D., is Research Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Chemistry at Vanderbilt University and Co-Principal Investigator of the Vanderbilt Chemical Diversity Center, an entry in the National Cancer Institute’s Chemical Biology Consortium. Dr. Waterson joined Vanderbilt in 2008 as Director of the Chemical Synthesis Core in the Vanderbilt Institute for Chemical Biology, and he continues to serve as a member of the Center’s operating committee. Previously, Dr. Waterson was Medicinal Chemist at GlaxoSmithKline where he received numerous awards for his contributions including 13 GSK R&D awards and an Exceptional Science Award.

Dr. Carrie Jones is a highly trained in vivo neuropharmacologist and neuroscientist with expertise in the use of biochemical, neurochemical, behavioral and imaging methodologies. She received her B.S. in Biology from Indiana University and further completed her Ph.D. from the Indiana University School of Medicine. While obtaining her Ph.D., she began her work in the Neuroscience division of pharmacology at Lily Research Laboratories, starting in 2001 on her first Postdoctoral Research Fellowship there. In 2005, Dr. Jones embarked on further postdoctoral studies within Vanderbilt University’s Department of Pharmacology.